Life Update~

A general update on how life has been lately….

Work is excellent, as always. I’m so lucky to work with such a fabulous boss, excellent customers and clothes I love wearing! Probably my fav thing is the fact that it’s a local store and my boss has lived here his whole life – thus, he understands why sales are slow during certain months. [Unlike my last job, where we constantly faced threats from our big-city DM & head office about low sales. It’s not like we could physically force people inside the mall during a blizzard. Geez.]

However, I’m currently looking for a second job in town to fill up my evenings. I’m used to working 44 hours a week. I can’t help it.

I created a budget for myself a few months ago. I used the 50/30/20 rule I found online somewhere but flipped it to suit my needs. I spend 50% of my paycheque on essentials, 30% goes into savings, and the remaining 20% can be used for ‘fun’ stuff. I started out by taking my essentials out in cash and dividing it into envelopes to be used each week; ie., $30 for the guinea pigs’ veggies every week [$60 a paycheque]. After a while I got used to it and I’ve since scrapped the envelopes.

I’ve also implemented a few money-saving tactics. My most exciting idea was to get a library card! I’ve read pretty much every book on my shelf and sold or donated nearly two hundred books last year. I decided it was time to get some new books so I headed to my fav online used bookstore and started filling up my cart. Then a few days later I decided on a whim to check if the library in town had any of the books I wanted…..and they had nearly every single one! The only books they don’t carry are witch books but that’s fine by me because I’d like to have them in a physical collection. I had over twenty-five books in my cart for a hundred bucks before getting my library card. I was able to take out six books for FREE with my card and have since edited my cart to just the witch books.

I’m attempting [per usual] to sort out my wardrobe and get started on a capsule wardrobe. This concept used to freak me out. I mean, having ONLY fifty items ALL YEAR ROUND? Excuse you, I live in Canada. The temps go from -40 in the winter and +30 in the summer. There are certain items I require each season, y’know? But then I discovered seasonal capsule wardrobes which are more my speed.

Of course, I can’t find a checklist online for a winter capsule wardrobe which would make things so much easier for me.

My pets are the same as usual~ I’ve decided I am at my limit of guinea pigs [ten] and won’t be bringing any more into rescue unless they desperately require it. I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned it before but I dedicate my time to taking in guinea pigs who have been neglected whether intentionally or unintentionally. Many of the guinea pigs that come to me are over-stressed from moving houses over and over again as people realize they don’t have the time to care for a guinea pig, or from living with over-zealous roommates who beat them up. I rehabilitate them, re-socialize them, and sometimes, if required, nurse them back to health. Then they stay with me until the end of their days.

Spiritually speaking, I’m looking forward to making bigger, better magick this year. I’m experimenting with a few new products to sell on my FB page, the Faolan Girl, and I’m hoping I’ll be invited to participate in the Mind Body Spirit Fair again this year. Last November I was invited to a sacred circle dance hosted by my soul-sister, Esmé, where I led one small part of the ritual. Afterwards I got to talking with Es, April & Roberta [two new friends] about all things witchy. Turns out Esmé has been mulling over the idea of a witchy school and wanted to ask me to help teach a class on magickal herbalism! I’m really hoping that gets rolling this year.

Well. I think we’re all caught up now.
Fao.

2 thoughts on “Life Update~

  1. I’ve missed you so much on here! I’m currently (again, I’m such a twit!!!) trying to re-create my blog again, because it got way too much for me, on here with you the same as you do! Personal and everything. LOVE the idea of that 50/30/20 budgeting, that’s something I think I’m going to steal from you 😉 x

    Like

    1. Awh thanks, love! I really do enjoy blogging but sometimes life gets in the way. But now I have a phone (finally. I haven’t had a phone in four years) so it’s easier to take pics and start drafts!

      The original 50/30/20 budgeting tip recommended saving only 20% of your savings, so I flipped that and save 30% just because it works for me. It’s amazing how quickly I stuck to my budgeting once I had that figured out!

      I’m looking forward to reading your blog again ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

