My Birthday Month: Week 3

February 12th: This was the laziest day. I actually didn’t do anything to celebrate myself. I mainly lazed about with my cat. But lazy days are okay sometimes!

February 13th: I’ve been looking forward to this day! I took my mother out for lunch at The Cornerstore, a lovely restaurant that I don’t visit enough. I ordered my beloved coconut shrimp and we also got a plate of pub nachos to share 😍

February 14th: Usually I dress up for Valentine’s day but I didn’t have anything work appropriate. So I decided to give myself a manicure instead! I used to love painting my nails but I don’t devote much time to it anymore.

February 15th: On this day I did something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time….I reorganized my crystals! I have them all organized alphabetically, but when I bought new crystals I didn’t bother rearranging. I finally sat down and did it! I can’t wait til the next full moon to cleanse everything. My raw stones are in a glass display case and my skulls, spheres, hearts and palm stones are scattered on my altar.

February 16th: This wasn’t necessarily an activity I wanted to do, but it needed to get done. On this day I completed two lessons of my schoolwork before my chronic pain started acting up. I haven’t completed any work since I registered to finish school because I’ve been afraid of aggravating my pain. It was a tough process but I did it! 

February 17th: Not necessarily a celebration, but lately I’ve been taking time to appreciate the little things – like this beautiful sunset!

February 18th: The temperature has been above 0 lately! I had a matcha Frappucinno to celebrate 🤗

Pre-birthday Gifts: I purchased this gorgeous satchel from an eBay store. It’s actually humongous and I’m kinda daunted by it 😂 But I’m looking forward to using it! 

Technically this isn’t a pre-birthday gift because I’m respecting Yuki’s wishes and waiting until my birthday! Yuki sent two gifts like this. Patience is not my strongest suit…😂

Some thoughts: I’ve seen some cranky posts on the internet about how dumb birthday months/weeks are, and I think that is a dumb mindset. Celebrating my birthday all month long is a way of mindfully incorporating self-care into my daily routine.

I’ve changed a few small things in my routine now. I take time to enjoy my food and listen to my body. This is so important to me because in the past, I’d eat as much as I could in one sitting and end up stuffed. I also take time to enjoy a special hot drink every work day. I often drink green tea at work, but lately I’ve been enjoying cocoa and drink packages Yuki sends me from Japan. 

I’ve also been working out and paying attention to how my body feels. I’ve been lifting weights, trying out new yoga routines, challenging myself with more squats and push-ups, and enjoying how strong I feel! 

I stopped wearing make-up on a daily basis about two years ago. I like looking like me all the time! But I also love bold lipstick and popping eyeshadows, so lately I’ve been taking the time to do my make-up. Not every day, mind you; I don’t have the patience to painstakingly remove mascara every night 😂 although I do wear my beloved Trinket lippy every day!

Lastly, I’ve been taking care of my skin. I wash and moisturize my face twice a day, but the rest of me tends to get ignored…especially in the winter! I’ve been incorporating dry brushing my legs and body oils into my nightly routine now.

Leave a Reply

